
CHICAGO
Monday–Friday • 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.

118 N. Clark St. 
Suite 120 
Chicago, IL 60602 
312.603.7790

Mailing Address:  
PO Box A43390 
Chicago, IL 60690

SUBURBAN OFFICES
Monday–Friday • 8:30 a.m. – 4:15 p.m.

North Suburbs 
Skokie Courthouse

5600 W. Old Orchard Road, Rm. 149 
Skokie, IL 60077 
847.470.7233

West Suburbs 
Near the Maywood Courthouse

1311 Maybrook Drive, Rm. 104 
Maywood, IL 60153 
708.865.6010

South Suburbs 
Markham Courthouse

16501 S. Kedzie Avenue, Rm. 238 
Markham, IL 60428 
708.232.4150

CEDRIC GILES
COOK COUNTY CLERK
cookcountyclerk.com

Avoid the wait and order online at cookcountyclerk.com,  
by phone at 866.252.8974 or at your local currency exchange.  

Additional convenience fees apply.

BIRTH, MARRIAGE, CIVIL UNION & DEATH RECORDS

COOK COUNTY

Cook County Vital Records keeps records for 
Chicago & Suburban Cook County. For other 
Illinois counties visit idph.state.il.us/vitalrecords. 
For records for other states go to vitalchek.com.

Photo ID is required for all applications and records.

ONE form of ID if submitting a State Driver’s License, State Identification 
Card, U.S. Passport, or U.S. Armed Forces Identification Card.

TWO of these forms of ID if submitting a Certified Copy of Birth Certificate 
(English translations required for foreign certificates), U.S. Naturalization 
Certificate, U.S. Resident Alien Card, Life Insurance Policy (at least one year 
old), Foreign Passport, U.S.–Issued Consulate Identification Card, Baptismal 
record (date of birth must appear).

Cedric Giles
Cook County Clerk



LICENSE APPLICATION FEE $60 

ELIGIBILITY 
According to Illinois law, both applicants must be  
18 or older, not be blood relatives, and not  
already be married to someone else.

EXCEPTIONS 
Illinois law allows exceptions: first cousins older 
than 50 may marry. 16- and 17-year-olds may 
obtain a marriage license with:

1  �Consent of parents listed on applicants’ birth 
certificates. All parents listed on each minor’s 
birth certificate must be present and show valid 
identification. 

2  �Certified copies of applicants’ birth certificates.

3  �A second form of identification showing  
applicants’ dates of birth.

TIMELINES & RESTRICTIONS 
Marriage licenses are issued while you wait, 
and are effective the following day. Licenses are 
valid for 60 days but effective only for marriages 
performed in Chicago and suburban Cook County.

AFTER THE CEREMONY  
The officiant performing the ceremony must 
complete the bottom portion of the license and 
mail it to: 

Cook County Vital Records 
P.O. Box A3390 
Chicago, IL 60690

ADDITIONAL COPIES 
Certified copies of marriage records are $15  
and $4 for each additional copy.

APPLYING  
Applicants must appear together in person at one of the Cook County Vital Records offices. They will be 
asked several questions at the counter, and must present valid identification with proof of age before they 
can sign the marriage license application.

MARRIAGE LICENSES

LICENSE APPLICATION FEE $60 

Illinois’ civil union law enables couples who are 18 or older to legally certify their union. Applicants must appear 
together at one of the Cook County Vital Records offices and present valid photo identification with proof of 
age. Application procedures and fees are similar to the marriage license process detailed in this brochure. 
Licenses are effective the following day and valid for 60 days, but only for unions performed in Chicago and 
suburban Cook County. Certified copies of civil union records are $15 and $4 for each additional copy. 

CIVIL UNION LICENSES

COMMEMORATIVE CERTIFICATES $65

Art-quality canvas commemorative marriage 
and civil union certificates include a legal 
certificate and can be purchased at any Cook 
County Vital Records Office or ordered online at 
cookcountyclerk.com. 

WALLET CERTIFICATES $15

A set of official wallet-size marriage or civil 
union certificates can be purchased at any Cook 
County Vital Records Office or ordered online by 
downloading a form on the Vital Records page at 
cookcountyclerk.com.

SPECIALTY CERTIFICATES

BIRTH AND MARRIAGE $15  •  DEATH $17 

The Genealogy Unit of Cook County Vital Records provides non-certified genealogy versions of birth (over 
75 years), death (over 20 years) and marriage (over 50 years) records for the purpose of genealogical 
research. Records are for Chicago and Cook County dating back to 1871. 

Additional copies are $4 (Birth, Marriage) and $6 (Death) each.

GENEALOGY

APPLICATION FEE $50 

Cook County Vital Records’ Assumed Names Department provides applications for filing under the 
Assumed Business Name Act to persons conducting business as a sole proprietorship, general partnership 
or professional service corporation. The following types of businesses are NOT required to register 
an assumed name: limited liability companies, limited liability partnerships, limited partnerships and 
corporations. Apply online at cookcountyclerk.com/abn.

BUSINESS REGISTRATION

The Illinois Secretary of State’s office processes all notary public applications, notary signatures and issues 
certificates of authority. You can print a notary public application at ilsos.gov or call 217.782.7017.

NOTARY DEPARTMENT

BIRTH CERTIFICATE $15  •  DEATH CERTIFICATE $17 

Cook County Vital Records keeps official records of births and deaths that occur in Chicago and 
suburban Cook County. Additional copies are $4 (Birth) and $6 (Death) each. Under state law, you may 
obtain a certified copy of:

•	 Your own birth certificate •	 A relative’s death certificate

•	 Your child’s birth certificate •	 A death certificate for an individual, if you 
can prove a financial interest in their death

BIRTH AND DEATH RECORDS


